News
rus / eng

    DR. NAVIN NANDA RECEIVES PRESTIGIOUS HONOUR


frazin

Navin C. Nanda, M.D has been awarded the 2006 Ellis Island Medal of Honor which is the most prestigious and highest civilian award one can receive in the United States, next to the Congressional Gold Medal. This award is sanctioned by the U.S. Congress (both the House of Representatives and the Senate) and the Awardees names are listed in the Congressional Record. Previous award recipients have included 6 Presidents of the United States of America (George Bush Sr., Jimmy Carter, William Clinton, Gerald Ford, Richard Nixon and Ronald Regan) as well as other renowned personalities including Senators, Congressmen and Nobel Prize winners. The award recognizes outstanding Americans who have distinguished themselves by their outstanding contributions to the U.S.A.
Dr. Nanda is a nationally and internationally renowned cardiologist and echocardiographer. He is a world expert in echocardiography and his clinical and research accomplishments have contributed in a major way to echocardiography becoming today the most useful and cost effective noninvasive technique for the diagnosis of various cardiac diseases. He has done pioneering work in the field of echocardiography and his academic achievements are legendary. His group was the first to pioneer the use of post-treadmill exercise echocardiography to detect coronary artery disease in 1981. This technique is now widely used throughout the world. Dr. Nanda was also among the first to pioneer the use of the new innovative technique of color Doppler flow mapping and his Laboratory at the University of Alabama at Birmingham in 1984 became the first facility in the USA to put this new equipment into clinical use. The color Doppler criteria developed by his group for the assessment of regurgitation of various cardiac valves are still used by cardiologists all over the world for managing their patients and deciding whether they will benefit from cardiac surgery. Dr. Nanda was also the first to develop an echocardiographic technique to assess pulmonary hypertension and recognize a congenital bicuspid valve. He was the first to use echocardiography extensively in the assessment of intracardiac catheters and pacemaker function. He has also done work on myocardial tissue characterization by two-dimensional echocardiography as well as in the utility of echo Doppler and color Doppler techniques in the evaluation of aortic aneurysms and dissection. His group was also the first to report on conventional Doppler and color Doppler evaluation of fetal hemodynamics. He has also done pioneering work on three-dimensional and four-dimensional echocardiography and more recently on transpharyngeal ultrasound to assess internal carotid artery stenosis.
Even as a senior resident in Bombay over 30 years ago, his pioneering work showed a high incidence of heart attacks in young Asian Indians under the age of 35 years even though their cholesterol and lipoprotein levels were normal. The 24th Bombay Medical Congress declared this work as the best scientific paper for the year 1966. Another study by him at that time showed a high prevalence of hyperglycemia in heart attack victims and its relation to diabetes mellitus in Indians. This work, published in the prestigious New England Journal of Medicine in 1967, was highly acclaimed by the editor of the same Journal as an important contribution and as the first thorough study of an Asiatic population. These represented some of the earliest high quality scientific studies done in India dealing with coronary artery disease. More recently, Dr. Nanda organized the first ever large scale survey of Asian Indians settled in the USA for the prevalence of various diseases such as stroke, high blood pressure, diabetes and coronary heart disease and found the prevalence of these diseases much higher than in other USA ethnic groups and higher than in Indians living in India. Dr. Nanda helped found the ethnic American Association of Cardiologists of Indian Origin and became its first and founding President in 1986. Dr. Nanda was also elected President of the prestigious American Association of Physicians from India and was the recipient of its very first "Most Distinguished Service Award". He was also elected to the Board of Directors of the Association of Black Cardiologists, Inc. for a period of two 3 year consecutive terms and was presented The Bridge Award for "building bridges across cultures, particularly among African American and Indian cardiologists".
Dr. Nanda has received numerous accolades from several countries throughout the world for his pioneering work in the field of echocardiography including China, Brazil, Italy, Uruguay, Columbia, the United Arab Emirates and India where among numerous recognitions the Cardiological Society of India instituted the Navin C. Nanda Young Investigator Award at their Annual Conference in December 2005 to be given to a young cardiologist with the best scientific research presentation. This is the first time in the 58 year history of this Society that an award has been instituted in any physicians name.

Новости
rus / eng

    Доктор Нэвин Нанда удостоен престижной награды


frazin

Доктор Нэвин С. Нанда получил награду 2006 Ellis Island Medal of Honor, которая является самой престижной и высшей гражданской наградой в США, наряду с Золотой Медалью Конгресса. Эта награда учреждается Конгрессом США (Сенатом и Палатой Представителей), а имена призеров вносятся в Книгу регистрации Конгресса США. Ранее эту награда получили 6 Президентов Соединенных Штатов Америки (Джордж Буш старший, Джимми Картер, Вильям Клинтон, Джеральд Форд, Ричард Никсон и Рональд Рейган) и другие знаменитые личности, в том числе сенаторы, конгрессмены и лауреаты Нобелевской премии. Этой наградой отмечают американцев, отличившихся своими выдающимися заслугами перед Соединенными Штатами Америки.
Доктор Нанда – хорошо известный кардиолог, как в США, так и в других странах. Он всемирно признанный эксперт в области эхокардиографии, и его клинические и исследовательские достижения очень способствовали развитию этой неинвазивной методики, которая сегодня широко применяется для диагностики различных сердечно-сосудистых заболеваний. Он провел новаторскую работу в области эхокардиографии, а его научные достижения являются легендарными. Его группа первой в 1981 году применила нагрузочную пост-трэдмил эхокардиографию для выявления ишемической болезни сердца. Эта методика сегодня широко используется по всему миру. Доктор Нанда также был среди первых исследователей инновационного метода цветного Допплеровского картирования кровотока, а его лаборатория в Университете Алабамы в Бирмингеме в 1984 году стала первым учреждением, применившим это новое оборудование в клинической практике. Критерии цветного Допплера, разработанные его группой для оценки регургитации сердечных клапанов, до сих пор используются кардиологами по всему миру для оценки необходимости сердечной хирургии у таких пациентов. Доктор Нанда также первым разработал эхокардиографический метод оценки легочной гипертензии и выявления врожденного бикуспидального клапана. Он первым начал широко использовать эхокардиографию для оценки функции внутрисердечных катетеров и кардиостимуляторов. Он также провел работу по характеристике тканей миокарда при помощи двухмерной эхокардиографии и использованию Допплера и цветного Допплера для оценки аневризмы и расслоения аорты. Его группа также первой при помощи традиционной и цветной допплерографии произвела оценку гемодинамики плода. Он провел новаторскую работу по использованию трехмерной и четырехмерной эхокардиографии, а недавно и трансфарингеального ультразвука для оценки стеноза сонной артерии.
Еще когда доктор Нанда был старшим врачом-ординатором в Бомбее более 30 лет назад, его передовая работа показала высокую частоту сердечных приступов среди молодых азиатских индийцев до 35 лет, несмотря на то, что уровень холестерина и липопротеинов у них были в норме. На 24-ом Бомбейском Медицинском Конгрессе эта работа была признана «лучшей научной работой»  1966 года. Другое его исследование того времени показало высокую распространенность гипергликемии у индийцев, перенесших сердечный приступ, и ее связь с сахарным диабетом. Данная работа, опубликованная в престижном Новом Английском Медицинском Журнале (New England Journal of Medicine) в 1967 году, была названа редактором этого издания как «важный вклад» и «первое подробное исследование азиатского населения». Эти труды представляли некоторые из первых высококачественных научных исследований, проведенных в Индии по ишемической болезни сердца. Недавно доктор Нанда организовал первое масштабное обследование азиатских индийцев, живущих в США, с целью выявления различных заболеваний, таких как инсульт, артериальная гипертония, диабет и ишемическая болезнь сердца. Было обнаружено, что преобладание этих заболеваний у индийцев намного выше, чем у других этнических групп США и индийцев, живущих в Индии. Доктор Нанда помог организовать этническую Американскую Ассоциацию Кардиологов индийского происхождения и стал ее первым Президентом в 1986 году. Также доктор Нанда был избран Президентом престижной Американской Ассоциации Врачей из Индии и получил самую первую награду ассоциации «За выдающиеся заслуги». Более того, он избирался в Совет Директоров Ассоциации Чернокожих Кардиологов на два трехлетних периода, и был представлен к награде The Bridge Award за «строительство мостов между культурами, особенно между афро-американскими и индийскими кардиологами».
Доктор Нанда получил множество благодарностей из различных стран мира за его новаторскую работу в области эхокардиографии, среди которых Китай, Бразилия, Уругвай, Колумбия, ОАЭ и Индия. На ежегодной конференции в декабре 2005 г. Кардиологическое Общество Индии учредило премию для молодых ученых имени Нэвина Нанды (Navin C. Nanda Young Investigator Award), которая будет вручаться молодым кардиологам, представившим лучшие научно-исследовательские работы. Впервые за 58 лет истории Общества была учреждена именная награда.